Posted by: futurefaith | February 12, 2011

‘Desiring God’ by John Piper

I recently received a free copy of the revised addition of John Piper’s most popular book, ‘Desiring God’ from WaterBrook Multnomah Publishing Group for this review. I have a personal history with this book. It was the very first book I read by Piper and the content completely transformed my thinking about my relationship with God, His Word, and the way I approach Him. The concept “Christians Hedonist” did not initially settle with me (as I am sure was the case for many other readers). I had to wait until he finished the initial explanation which he does very well in the introduction. Several points that this book wishes to make are: 1. That God is most glorified in me when I am most satisfied in Him. 2. A “Christian Hedonist” is not someone who is living to satisfy and please themselves and just happens to be a Christian. In fact, quite the opposite is true. A “Christian Hedonist” seeks to glorify and delight God by finding their delight (and satisfaction) in Him [God]. 3. We are far too easily pleased…with trivial, earthly, half-hearted things.
You will find behind every word a heart convinced of the expressions that the words make. I remember, back in 2006, when I read this book for the first time being overwhelmed with my own joylessness and lack of satisfaction in the God who saved me, and the complete ease and conviction with which John Piper expressed his own journey in learning to desire God. I am confident that a true believer will not be able to read this book without being effected toward a newly developed desire for God. One of the great things about the revision is the inclusion of a “study guide” that should be extremely helpful in small-group sessions. This aid would be great for book studies or even for personal reflection. The point of the book is applied to many areas of the Christian’s life. There are chapters attempting to apply this focus in our Conversation, Worship, Prayer, Money, Marriage, Suffering, and many other life situations. Finding God as the satisfaction in our management of all the areas mentioned in this book reminds us that God is in all and is over all.
I highly recommend this read for every Christian. It has been recommended reading in many of my pastoral counseling situations. It is easy to read, relevant, and absolutely captivating.

Responses

  1. Fantastic book review, i too loved this book when i first read it. “Desiring God” changed my devotion to God! Another great book by Piper for pastors is “We are not professionals.”

    • I actually read ‘Desiring God’ for the first time back in 2006. It transformed my thinking. I got through the first chapter and realized that I did not have what Piper was sharing. I didn’t find myself “satisfied” only in Jesus. As an IFB I was doing a good job “doing” a lot of “spiritual” things, yet my spirit wasn’t at rest in Christ. God used this book to direct my thinking and life’s endeavors to find their end in Him. I have also read ‘Brothers We Are Not Professionals’. Quite the encouragement for me…I certainly am not one.


Leave a Reply

Categories

